Gallery

Why Wines Deserve a Second Chance: #MWWC22

19 Jan

 

wine-stain1-3

jvb2

 

Yesterday was a day I planned for months and worried about for weeks in advance. It was a wine tasting of a group of wines outside my normal scope of expertise. Traditionally when I host a tasting, I do ONE thing specifically: I serve wines I know personally, whose vines and trellises I have paced aside, whose barrels I have touched, whose flavors and colors I know intimately.

This was not one of those times.

Sure, on my ten wine list I hand-picked a few bottles that had been waiting in the cellar for just such a day. But by in large, I researched and shopped regions I didn’t know as well, and looked more closely at wines that often get a bad rap. For examples, the wines we scoot past quickly in a restaurant list when we see them. Such as: Italian white wines, and chianti.

“Why?” you cry out, outraged and distressed, “What have Chianti and Italian white wines done to you?”

Nothing.

That’s exactly it, they did nothing for me, and nothing TO me.

And it’s my own fault.

Because we first taste these wines in a family-style Italian restaurant where cheap wines are served by the gallon. We learn, early in age, to be dismissive of cheap pinot grigio and cheap chianti. As a result, later on in our lives,  we don’t even bother look for quality versions of these same things. It’s as silly as hating cars as an adult, just because your first teenage car was a cheap junker that smoked from the exhaust, had bald tires, and barely got you where you needed to go. It’s not the fault of the vehicle, to be honest.

It’s time to give these wines a second chance.

For white wines, I turned to Friuli-Venizia Guilia.

photo-3

 

I served these four white wines, in order:

Venica 2013 Malvasia from Collio,

Borgio Del Tiglio 2011 white blend from Collio,

I Clivi 2014 Verduzzo from Collio Orientali del Friuli DOC, and

I Clivi 2001 Galea from Collio Orientali del Friuli DOC.

These four wines changed all our preconceived notions of Italian white wines. Crafted with obvious expertise, love and care, these wines displayed depth, complexity, minerality, and body. They told stories. They enticed our palates, and they left us wanting more.

The 2001 Galea showed its age, grace, and deep color beautifully, on par with some of my revered and aged Bordeaux or Burgundian wines. The color alone was stunning; photos just don’t do it justice.

Clivi Galea

I found it funny: one of my guests (almost as a rule) dismisses white wines. He was not as quiet as I expected during these first four bottles, and eventually, I learned he was impressed and enjoying himself! And he made a point to speak up and admit both of these points to the group.

And we moved on to the red wines, and we laughed, and we loosened up. And at the 9th bottle, I poured a chianti.

But not just any chianti.

Thought a relatively young wine, I served a Chianti Classico Gran Reserva Selezione, a DOCG wine with the tell-tale black rooster on the bottle. I said little about the wine, and I said nothing about the Rooster.

Chianti rooster

 

 

 

My guests said it all for me. They told me this wine was stunning, eye-opening, not what they expected from a chianti. They shared pairing notes, talked about the color, the nuances they found.

Even after I served the 2000 Brunello Di Montalcino, we ooh’d and ahh’d about it and thoroughly enjoyed it… but eventually we went back to discussing the chianti.

And I thought that maybe it was really us who needed the second chance.

jvb1

à votre santé!

Submitted to the Monthly Wine Writing Challenge #22

 

7 Responses to “Why Wines Deserve a Second Chance: #MWWC22”

  1. Shannon January 20, 2016 at 9:33 pm #

    I love a good chianti. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

  2. Duff's Wines January 19, 2016 at 10:25 am #

    Jim, I lucked out and bought a case of the 2010 San Lorenzo at $27 CAD per. As you say – stunning. I also had the same memories of Chianti – straw covered bottles that held a candle better than the wine. Interesting that all around the world, wineries have picked up their game.

    Like

    • jimvanbergen January 19, 2016 at 11:04 am #

      Absolutely. And we all benefit from the quality wine being made. This is NOT your grandfather’s chianti!

      You got that great case at a great price! Thanks for the reply- Cheers!

      Like

  3. the drunken cyclist January 19, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    Reblogged this on mwwcblog.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monthly Wine Writing Challenge #22–The Results | the drunken cyclist - January 26, 2016

    […] JVB Uncorked: Why Wines Deserve a Second Chance […]

    Like

  2. #MWWC22 Time to vote! | the drunken cyclist - January 19, 2016

    […] JVB Uncorked: Why Wines Deserve a Second Chance […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

