If Chile Had a Margaux, This Might Be It!

18 Dec

François Lurton’s Gran Araucano Cabernet Sauvignon 2009, Lolol Valley, Chile. 14.5% ABV, $35 list, currently $35-45 street.

I would never have tried this wine but it was suggested to me over and over from various vendors who know what I like, and that I prefer to buy wines in the under $20 for my readers but my personal preferences run higher. After the third time someone suggested this to me, one vendor finally put the bottle in my hands and said, “If you don’t like it, bring it back and I’ll exchange it.” For a perishable item like wine, that’s a sales pitch from someone who trusts his product!

The color is deep ruby, and the nose is surpassingly complex and aromatic w/ black plum, spice, forest floor, a little funk and menthol. A nose like a champion, almost worth the price of admission for the nose alone.

On the palate, tart cassis is the powerful first impression. Swirled around the mouth, the upper palate gets the heat plus red plum,  pepper, oak, some clay. The tongue continues with cassis and now adds plum and blackberry, while the back palate senses silt, darker notes like forest and potting soil, and now tannins creeping in, first slowly, then with full force. Acidity and tannin take a second place to the fruit and nose in this wine, but are in no way diminished. This is a well-made wine, worthy of the price tag. Great for roast meats, strong flavors- even though I enjoyed it with mediterranean fare.

It was crafted with care by masters of French classic wines, no doubt, because I have a hard time putting down the glass, or it keeps refilling itself.

If Chile had a Margaux, this might be it. I would love to taste this wine again in five and ten years. If you take the time to google this wine, you might find the series of awards it has won. Or you might just find what matters: a place to buy a bottle or two so you can enjoy. If only I had cellar space for a full case!

gran araucano

 

à votre santé!

 

2 Responses to “If Chile Had a Margaux, This Might Be It!”

  1. jimvanbergen December 20, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    Hi François, thanks so much for your note! Your vertical tasting sounds like a delightful opportunity!

    Congratulations on a lovely wine, I’ll be looking for more opportunities to taste your wares.

    Warmest regards,
    JvB

    Like

  2. François lurton December 20, 2014 at 4:35 pm #

    Jim,
    We started this wine together with my brother in 97. I would be please to let you do a vertical from this year to today of “gran Araucano, cab sauv”.
    This can be done at Bordeaux where I have a small stock of every vintage or at Lolol at the property.
    Thank you for your nice comments.
    All the best
    françois Lurton

    Like

Leave a Reply

