Beat the heat and SERVE COLD! Cottonwood & Kris Summer Reds

13 Sep

I’m looking back at my summer (as the heat waxes and wanes) and thinking about the wonderful wines I enjoyed this summer. I feel bad that I didn’t share with you ALL my fabulous treats, so here are a few wines I tasted this summer that really beat the heat.

Cottonwood Canyon 2012 Bistro Classic Rosé of Syrah. Santa Maria Valley, 14% ABV. $26/bottle, direct.

Strawberry & cherry, gentle sweetness with good acidity.when I called to check on the price, the tastings manager said “only a few cases left”. That’s sad, because it’s a delightful wine and I loved every sip!

rose of syrah

 

Kris Pinot Noir, 2012 Provincia di Pavia, 12.5% ABV. $13

Delightfully fruity with dominant cherry and subtle strawberry palate. Good, balanced acidity and gentle tannins- this is a wine that will pair with nearly anything, and has become a go-to summer red in my house- a bottle is always standing by on the sideboard! Served slightly chilled, it stands up to dishes of every possibility. Terrific value.

Kris

 

I was introduced to “real lambrusco” at #WBC14. The Canali impressed me but has been tough to find on the east coast…

IMG_0511

So I visited one of NY’s famed wine stores and found almost a dozen lambruscos, in all possible styles! One of the best I tried is La Grasparossa. Again, it was being sold at an amazing price point and I wished I’d purchased a case.

“La Grasparossa” Labrusco di Castelvetro, DOP, Secco, Modena, Italy 2013. From Astor Wine & Spirits, $12/bottle (on sale), 11.5%ABV.


La Grasparossa

 

Dinner with wine friends is a great opportunity, so at Morrel Wine Bar on a steamy evening, I couldn’t help but choose the bottle below:

photo-1

 

As a fellow redhead, I couldn’t resist Uncle Dick. Once we saw the bottle, we burst out laughing. The wine inside, I promise, is no laughing matter.

The Red Brute from Bleasdale Vineyards. Around $18-22 on the ‘net, this deep, dark sparkling shiraz was perfect with truffle-devilled eggs, a charcuterie plate, and savory pastas.

No matter how much I have already learned about wine,  I still have to keep an open mind -because I’m constantly surprised.

What’s in YOUR wine glass?

à votre santé!

Follow me on twitter, @JvBUnCorked. Links to posts, pics of what I’m drinking right now, and retweets of the best of what the wine world has to say.

@JvBUncorked

One Response to “Beat the heat and SERVE COLD! Cottonwood & Kris Summer Reds”

  1. talkavino September 14, 2014 at 7:45 am #

    Love the label on The Red Brute…

    Like

Leave a Reply

