In Vino Veritas 2014. Vinho Verde!

28 May

I attended another “In Vino Veritas” group in NYC in which everyone brings a bottle (not the same one, hopefully) of a grape varietal or style of wine. I suggested several possibilities for summer wine options to group’s host,  Jimmy. A few days later I got an invitation via email, and the wine of choice was Portugal’s Vinho Verde.

I’ve been to Portuguese wine tastings before. One at a high-end wine store in Manhattan where I had found the vinho verde choices just not quite to my personal liking at that moment. I hoped to fare better at this one, and knew at least I’d bring one that I enjoyed.

The day of the tasting came and we found ourselves around a table with five bottles of vinho verde, from five different manufacturers, several of which cost under $10. They were quite different in style: some were lighter in color, body, and depth while others had some savory notes and a more yellow hue instead of the pale green I’ve come to associate with them. Not all the wines were sparkling/carbonated, and interestingly enough as a group we all seemed to choose different bottles as our favorite of the set. The tasting process became a great overview of a variance of style and flavors.

My apologies for the lack of specific individual reviews, as I was determined to actually enjoy this tasting and not make it “work”, so I left my notes for the next tasting, and am sharing only the overview today.

Casal Garcia

csal

Quinta de Azevedo

quinta-de-azevedo-vinho-verde-portugal-10153720

Gazela Branco

20110714-vinhoverde-bottles

Muralhas de Mancao

1048194x

Most importantly at this tasting, everyone found a wine (or three) they enjoyed. For most of the group, it was their first time tasting this delicious and refreshing treat just in time for summer. For all of us, it was a great time with friends, trying something new and exciting, learning and enjoying, and having a wonderful summer evening.

vinho-verde-portugalHave a favorite Vinho Verde or a great story to share? Tell us about it!

à votre santé!

2 Responses to “In Vino Veritas 2014. Vinho Verde!”

  1. talkavino May 28, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

    considering QPR, Vinho Verde is an ultimate anti-snob wine 🙂 Simple, refreshing and enjoyable.

    Like

    • jimvanbergen May 28, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

      I agree! I was pleasantly surprised that some of the wines at this tasting had greater depth and complexity. Always learning something new!
      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

