From Lodi, with Love

7 Oct

Earthquake Cabernet Sauvignon 2011, Michael David Winery, Lodi, CA. List $26, as low as $20 online.  ABV 15%.

My neighbor Lori has family in Lodi. She and her husband Gary pick up a case of wine from Lodi every now and again and lucky me, we share a pour over the fence that separates our cozy New York City “backyards”. Tonight Lori treated me to Earthquake ’11 Cabernet Sauvignon. I have enjoyed Michael David’s popular 7 Deadly Zins, and  Earthquake Zin (before Robert Parker awarded Earthquake Zin a 90 point rating) so I had some expectation of what was in the glass tonight. So, without further delay:

The color is deep purple with violet edging. On the nose, blackberry and boysenberry and a backbone of alcohol. In the mouth- black currant and berries, with a kick of sassafrass root, licorice and what I have decided is the essence of ancient riverbed stone. The first things I tasted were the cassis and terroir, I swear there must be some syrah in this wine.

EQCab

Strong, (did I mention the alcohol? Oh, it’s there, at 15%) full-bodied, and delicious. It brought a quick smile to my face. This wine competes very well with some other small vineyards charging twice the price for lesser products from other areas of the west coast.  If you like family-owned, well-crafted wines with character, then you owe it to try some wines from Lodi, and Michael David.

photo-13All the Zin drinkers I know already rave about 7 Deadly Zins- that wine is a no brainer favorite from so many people looking for great under-$20 value. Now you have more to add to the plate from this wine maker- and I expect there is a lot more we haven’t seen in our east coast stores yet.

à votre santé!

2 Responses to “From Lodi, with Love”

  1. foxress October 7, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

    Nice review. I’m always looking for those under $20 finds.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To Lodi, with Love | jvb uncorked - August 10, 2016

    […] Michael David Winery’s 2011 Earthquake Zinfandel […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

