The Best Little Wine Store Every Neighborhood Needs

22 May

It often takes a close friend to introduce you to the best things in an area– the finest bakery, the best cup of coffee, an amazing tailor, etc. Well, I’m about to be that friend.

Here’s the story: I was working on a show at the downtown performing arts center in Charlotte, NC when I literally stumbled upon the proverbial pot of gold, except these pots were mostly 750ml bottles. Wine bottles, to be exact! Neatly arranged along the light rail line in downtown Charlotte is an open market with a bevy of wonderful stalls, called the 7th Street Public MarketThe owner/vendors in the Public Market are people who offer specialty products and are so passionate about their products that given a taste, you will be too! 

Tucked inside the 7th Street Public Market is a delightful wine paradise that should be duplicated in every metropolis, town, and neighborhood. This oenophile’s oasis is called The Sorting Table on 7th and runs with its back facing the entryway. To find it, look for the bicycles flown above his stall and you’ll be there in a moment.

Josh V. runs the Sorting Table on 7th and has both a vast knowledge and fellow passion for wine. When I first saw his stall, I watched and listened as he deftly answered several questions from a customer and suggested several good options from his stock. I noticed the shelves are filled with quality bottles of reputable vineyards from across the globe, and his pricing compares to much larger stores with buying power, I assume due to relatively low rent/overhead.

Josh says he carries wine “ranging from $8 to $500 a bottle”, and his stock is right there for everyone to see, arranged by country and grape with bottle and tasting notes as well as the occasional comic, photo, or character gag to give you a sense of his perspective on the bottle. You’ll also see bikes, R2D2 toys, and other items he is passionate about, but the focus here is quality and value wine. Josh knows his stuff, from the grapes to terroir to the wine latitudes.

photo-2

His shelves are full of great wines and good values across the spectrum and from around the world. I saw not one but two rare magnums of  Dave Phinney/Orin Swift’s “The Prisoner” on his shelf at a very reasonable price. “I can’t believe I’m selling those,” he admitted. “If I weren’t flying home,” I told him, “I’d buy them right now!”

photo

I’ve never seen them before, but believe me, I’ll be looking for them closer to home.

Better yet, Josh knows his pairings. So if you go to the market and pick up cheese, meats, a pizza or other goodies then swing by his booth, he can offer you selections to match what you’re eating. I saw the real wine mensch in him as he responded equally well to chefs, foodies, oenophiles and wine amateurs.

photo-1

Every town needs a Josh V and a Sorting Table on 7th.

Do you have one to share with us? 

à votre santé

3 Responses to “The Best Little Wine Store Every Neighborhood Needs”

  1. Duff's Wines May 22, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    So jealous as I’m in a state controlled environment (Ontario). Good opportunities but none f the relationship yu get with a local stre run by your local guy/woman.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts From 2013 | jvb uncorked - December 31, 2013

    […] 5 The Best Little Wine Store Every Neighborhood Needs […]

    Like

  2. Best Little Wine Store- Part 2: Wines from the Sorting Table | jvb uncorked - May 30, 2013

    […] got a note from a reader, asking if I tasted any wines from The Sorting Table on 7th  and if so, why didn’t I write about them? I admit, I am remiss in the time it took me to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

