My Favorite Cheap Wine

27 Oct

Part of my blog’s focus is to introduce my friends & readers not only to new wines to try, but also to great values and sometimes to great classics. Today I’m giving you what I’ve realized has become my go-to cheap bottle of wine.

“It can’t be,” you might be thinking. “JvB choosing ONE wine?”

Haha, No, not a chance. You’re absolutely right. It’s not one wine, it’s one manufacturer.

The Naked Grape is a label that I have come to trust for a really passable $6 bottle of wine. Better yet, they offer a cabernet sauvignon, a pinot noir, a malbec, a chardonnay, a pino grigio, and a moscato, all of which I’ve tried and enjoyed. The last two I have opened are the californian moscato, which has nice pear fruit up front with distinct orange flavor and a sweet tang to it, and the argentinian malbec, a plummy, spicy offering that rocked leftovers, chinese food, & mexican at $1.50 a glass. Really!

Image

Check out their website here, which sadly demonstrates not a whole lot about this manufacturer. Demand your local shop carry this, like mine does. (Forest Hills residents, I get this at Mayfair Wine & Spirits on Union Turnpike. John carries all of these, right near the register.)

The coolest thing about The Naked Grape is (no, not the cutesy bottle color coding, that ranks third behind #1 value & #2 drinkable) that for 36 bucks you can have SIX different bottle of six different grapes and pair them for what they are with your meals, and then move up to something serious, or know a great cheap bottle of wine that will work beautifully with your meals.

Last but not least: these are all really decent, well-made vin du tables worth serving, but if you don’t like one, it’s less than the cost of a glass at the restaurant, so who cares? You can always toss it, use it in the sauce, or serve it to a drunken guest after they’ve had your good stuff, right?

à votre santé!

2 Responses to “My Favorite Cheap Wine”

  1. Whine And Cheers For Wine October 28, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    We carry it at our store albeit not the Malbec or Moscato. The Chardonnay is a good seller along with the Cab and Merlot. Thanks for writing about these wines and their value. I’ll be glad to point my customers to these wines and your site 🙂
    Regards.

    Like

    • jimvanbergen October 28, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      You’re quite welcome! I was surprised at the quality of both, and this that this brand is a great took for people to get comfortable with grapes they may not know (like moscato!)

      As Naked Grape seems to not advertise or market heavily, feel free to use my post as a shelf hangar, and I only ask you include the name “JvB Uncorked” with it. Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

