The Threat to Europe from Down Under

6 Aug

Kim Crawford 2010 Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

360,000 cases made, originally released at $19/bottle.

I picked this up at one of my local stores after the owner said, “this is one of the best examples of why New Zealand’s wines are such a threat to Europe.” Now that I’ve tasted it, I couldn’t agree with him more.

The color is pale yellow with a tinge of green. The nose demonstrates citrus and herb. The palate is largely grapefruit with some honeydew melon, passionfruit, fresh cut grass, a tint of herb garden, and a final note of minerality. It’s crisp and tasty, very grapefruit forward. A nice summer wine to match salads, seafoods or by itself, it’s a pleasant wine that competes well with my beloved French whites, reminding me of Sancerre and delicious white burgundies.

Due to the consistency and reasonable price I’ve found over several bottles, the wines of Crawford have been elevated in my opinion. With a large stable of grapes over many parcels in NZ, I’ve begun trusting the brand and stocking more of it with my regular purchases.

Details: While this was a good deal for $14 at my local provider, I’ve show it’s release price at $19, seen it listed at $15.99 locally, and online from $13-20. It’s worth noting that the top wine reviewers have consistently rated this wine from 88-92 points since its first major review in 2004. It might be worth noting it’s slightly higher in alcohol than I like for a summer white at 13.5% by volume.

The official Crawford website is linked here for your reference.

à votre santé!

Leave a Reply

